News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 02, 2020
 8.4K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 39K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 4.7K     0 

Do you support Josh Matlow's approach to designating several properties as heritage at once?

• Total voters

DonValleyRainbow

Member Bio
Reaction score
City:
Toronto
Starting because I didn't see a thread for this elsewhere.

Josh Matlow announced a sweeping motion to include 258 main street properties on the city's heritage register, all in one shot. This is also labelled as 'Phase 01', to which I presume another sweeping motion is in the works for structures away from major streets.

The response I've seen so far has been smaller than I thought, but nonetheless polarizing; it's either 'ya way to go!' or 'this is NIMBYism and antidevelopment wrapped in a heritage blanket.'

Personally, I'm on the fence: I am for these registrations, but I have not been able to read the rationales for all of them, and as an economist I always fear unintended consequesnces.

Anyway, the motion is here, and it contains the documents with all of the building details and rationales.

wYCDzrn.png

Last edited:
Toronto could add 258 buildings to heritage register in unprecedented step

While several neighbourhood groups are applauding the move, others are voicing concern.

BILD, the home builders' association with some 1,450 member companies, said in a letter to the preservation board that it was surprised by the city's approach, especially given the limited information it received about the change.

Jack Winberg, the president and CEO of developer Rockport, which controls four properties on the list, expressed similar shock in his letter to the board.

At Thursday's meeting, architect Michael McClelland said while he supports a city-wide survey of heritage properties, he's alarmed by the city's aggressive stance, suggesting it should find a way to do more consultation with owners.