8.5K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 39K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 4.8K     0 

yin_yang

Member Bio
Reaction score
I graduated in 2009 but still pay to take out books from the library. It is slightly pathetic how crowded teaching/learning facilities at Ryerson have gotten. They need to raise tuition fees, or McGuinty needs to raise taxes. It is simply impossible for Ryerson to comfortably accommodate 35,000 students without swallowing George Brown College, or building a suburban campus/a skyscraper...

I'm sure many here would welcome a mix-use skyscraper.

1-10: New Ryerson Library
11-20: Lecture Halls
21-30: Administration
31-50: Condominium
51-60: Hotel

Is this really so hard to do? They just fucked up two chances at making Ryerson a decent place to study (Learning Centre/Maple Leaf Gardens) and raising its profile internationally. It really is sad how pathetic and passive our government is.

::Contemplates a move to Korea::

The solution to overcrowding and underfunding at universities in Ontario is self-evident, it's just that government and educators themselves don't want to consider it because it is against their self-interests. Namely, university enrollment should be dropped. Less people should be going to publicly subsidized post-secondary institutions.

That is true. A lot of people do get useless degrees nowadays. Sexual Diversity Studies...what the hell is that? Male and Female. Bachelor's degree over.

The solution to overcrowding and underfunding at universities in Ontario is self-evident, it's just that government and educators themselves don't want to consider it because it is against their self-interests. Namely, university enrollment should be dropped. Less people should be going to publicly subsidized post-secondary institutions.