8.5K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 39K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 4.7K     0 

YourBoy007

Member Bio
Reaction score
Not sure if these numbers were posted yet but this definitely shows Calgary's urban sprawl problem.

1670348084074.jpeg
1670348083283.jpeg

Not sure if these numbers were posted yet but this definitely shows Calgary's urban sprawl problem.

View attachment 450086View attachment 450087
That is cool as hell. Here's my attempt at estimating the share of tax revenue from each of the 10 colour groups of hexagons (based on the legend and text).
1673560766590.png

In other words, I suspect about half of the city's total property tax revenue comes from land within a 30 minute walk from the middle of downtown; this area includes perhaps 15-25% of the jobs and roughly 5-7% of the population.

As an inner city resident, I tend to gripe about how much tax money is allocated to the suburbs relative to the inner city, where collections are substantially higher. I would love to see a user pay model with toll roads installed on all major freeways.

View attachment 450086View attachment 450087
It looks like a lot of the newer, post MDP greenfield communities are actually doing pretty decent. Lots of green around the edge. It is the "inner ring" of roughly 70's-00's communities that are mostly red/yellow. This aligns with the recent analysis for the new community business cases in Summer '22 that showed the 5 approved communities as being revenue positive in very short order.