News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 40K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 5.1K     0 

sunshine14

Member Bio
Reaction score
Hey everyone - newbie here.

I was recently looking to rent a new place but decided that I'd like to consider buying as well to weigh out the options.

I would like to stay East of Yonge, and generally south of Bloor, and originally was mostly interested in Cabbagetown and Riverdale.

My agent sent me a listing for a place on Berkeley (just north of Shuter) that seems nice, but I'm concerned about the area.

The street itself seems very nice, but Shuter/Dundas seem kind of sketchy, but the agent mentioned that this area is in transition and should be better in 5-10 years.

Does that make sense?

Would you live there?

Thanks in advance.

I don't live there but I don't think it's as bad as some ppl think.

However, that being said you should NOT be paying a premium.
Unfortunately, from what I've seen many properties in 'up and coming/transitional' areas are asking almost 'prime' areas when you consider the lot size, condition of property, cost to renovate, etc.

Also, during an economic downturn, the 'prime' areas will retain their prices better than 'up and coming/transitional' areas ... another thing to consider when looking at prices, etc.

Dundas and Sherbourne was thought to be "transitional" over 30 years ago when some people I knew bought houses on Seaton, but the transit has mostly been in the opposite direction from what they assumed.

I definitely see your point about not paying a premium. That certainly wouldn't make sense.

I guess I haven't lived in Toronto long enough to know whether the area has gotten better/stayed the same/declined - interesting what Urbanshocker wrote about it transitioning down over the past 30 years.

Were your friends unhappy with their home on Seaton? Or is it more they were just unhappy about the value of their home?

Thanks again.