News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 40K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 5.1K     0 

newstart

Member Bio
Reaction score
Hi guys,
I'm fairly new to Toronto and keen to get into the condo market.
I'm employed as an admin assist at Queen's Park earning around $35,000 and have $100,000 which I could use as a downpayment.
I would love to purchase and move in the very near future and was wondering what you guys might suggest to me?
I think this is what I'm looking for -

-A place around $300,000 near the downtown
-Closer than 5 minute walk from a subway (I dont drive)
-Safe for a young woman
-Very close to a real grocery store
-New or fairly new
-Nice view
-Hardwood floors
-Interesting neighborhood for walking

Am I being realistic?

Also, I need a short-term rental starting end of this month until I buy.

I know you guys know this city better than anyone and I'll never make a bigger investment so I need your help! Please. ;)

put your $100k into URST and double your money! A much better investment imo. Rent a place and trade away to become a multi millionaire. With $35k single income you can't afford a place in the gta--$100k downpayment or not it's a very foolish thing to do especially at the market top. Double your money every 6 months on the stock market: totally realistic if you're patient and follow my guru:)

Need a place to stay short term? Hmm....

Welcome to the forum.

It sounds like you're in a hurry to get your own place. Most new developments which are currently in the "sales" phase won't be built for at least 18 months, more likely two years or longer. Therefore you will more likely want to go to the resale market.

My advice: First, take at least a few weeks to wander around the city and do your homework regarding neighbourhoods. Spend time getting to know a few areas, and the nearby amenities. This will be time well spent, believe me. Then, get a good real estate agent, and find out what's available on the MLS system.