8.9K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 40K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 5.1K     0 

xizhimen

Member Bio
Reaction score
I'm new to Ward 19, but even as a new arrival, Joe Pantalone has me flabergasted at evey turn.

First, the interim control bylaw on Ossington. Whatever its worth, he seems to have gone about it the wrong way, passing the bylaw and then seeking community feedback after the fact. More to the point, he didn't seem all too interested in community feedback: not only was there no information about the relevant meeting on his website or in an Adam Vaughn-style email newsletter (great example of keeping residents informed in a very detailed way) but at the meeting itself he had the gall to yell at some of the residents who disagreed with his handling of the issue.

Second, he seems to have tried something similar on Harbord, sneaking a motion into council to dissaprove of Ici Bistro's liquor licence application, and then speaking very publicaly against the application and other businesses on Harbord (Sam James Coffee Bar).

No doubt, a lot of this has to do with the king-in-their-ward thing that goes on at City Hall, but there's more, I think, in Pantalone's style that makes his actions disagreeable, whether or not they're right.

Anyone else agree - any long-time residents have any thoughts about the councillor? Also, any word on whether there'll be any challengers for his seat in 2010?

i'd put him in the italian quasi-mafioso category. literally. do a bit of research and put two and two together...

:eek:

i'd put him in the italian quasi-mafioso category. literally. do a bit of research and put two and two together...

:eek:

Naw, too fuzzy-wuzzy lefty for that. Locally speaking, it's Tony Ianno types for whom the "italian quasi-mafioso" stereotype more pertains...

I'm new to Ward 19, but even as a new arrival, Joe Pantalone has me flabergasted at evey turn.