8.8K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 40K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 5K     0 

izomax

Member Bio
Reaction score
I am a newbie looking to buy a pre-construction condo and I have some questions:

1. Do developers normally require that you get mortgage prior to signing contract?

2. Do developers require financial proof that you have enough deposit (15%~25%) prior to signing contract?

3. Is the closing date same as "interim" occupancy date or after official registration? At what point in time do I start paying my mortgage?

4. Should I get an real estate agent at all? What are the pros and cons?

Thanks!

I am a newbie looking to buy a pre-construction condo and I have some questions:

1. Do developers normally require that you get mortgage prior to signing contract?

2. Do developers require financial proof that you have enough deposit (15%~25%) prior to signing contract?

3. Is the closing date same as "interim" occupancy date or after official registration? At what point in time do I start paying my mortgage?

Thanks!

1. Assuming that by contract you mean purchase agreement, IF yes then the answer is No. You will however require a pre-approval from a bank which will be used by the builder to determine your ability to own a condo at the first place.

2. Pre-Approval should do. they will how ever in most cases ask you to deposit post dated cheques in advance. They usually would never ask for any financial proof as regardless your conditions might not be the same as it is today. the payout periods are defined and structured in a way where buyer has time to arrange money for down payment installments and it would not make any sense for me to show a builder now that i have money to pay for the sceond installment thats due lets say 60 days from now.