News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 40K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 5.1K     0 

urbandreamer

recession proof
Member Bio
Reaction score
Looking at the TSX and US market "correction" this week (i'm a trader btw) and knowing there is a direct relationship between bullish sentiment on the stock market and bullish real estate sales, I believe a correction is due both in the resale and new housing construction markets.

I don't want to sound all doom and gloom--I love watching new projects especially Aa designed ones!--but a correction is possible as investors protect their capital.

Discuss.

Perhaps a little panic generated by the thought that property prices will plummet will encourage my neighbours to move while they still can.

We have heard "doom and gloom" predictions for a number of years now, particularly in regards to the condo market. I will now acknowledge that there is some reason to be concerned. I think any correction will manifest itself in only a few segments, especially housing priced between, say, $1 million and $3 million. This luxury class is purchased disproportionately by those whose fortunes depend directly or indirectly on the stock market (traders obviously, as well as high-net-worth professionals who are heavily invested in the stock market, etc.) We may see a drastic slowing down of redevelopment in neighbourhoods such as Bathurst and Lawrence, where whole streets of old bungalows are being converted to million-dollar housing.

I do not think there will be a correction of any great magnitude, or in fact probably not at all, in most property values. I include the more typical family dwellings and most condo apartment units. "Fundamentals" haven't really changed (immigration to the GTA, the lowest unemployment rate in 30 years, the highly diversified economy in this region).