News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 02, 2020
 8.7K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 39K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 4.9K     0 

Apparently you should be able to mount the TV on metal studded walls. See this link. Basically, you should use more toggle bolts. Buy more toggle bolts to spread the load if they don't supply enough bolts with the wall mount.

For a 47" 56lbs LCD TV:
spanning across all 3 metal studs...

I will then place 2 toggle bolts into each metal stud and then 2 toggle bolts into the drywall between each stud, making for a total of 10 toggle bolts. 6 going into the metal studs, and 4 going into the drywall.

There is also this video, for TV that weigh up to 80 lbs.:

[video=youtube;C9l0zkd91oM]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C9l0zkd91oM[/video]

Last edited:
I'm no engineer, but if I had to do it, I'd cut out a piece of 3/4" plywood, and then use toggle bolts to mount the plywood to preferably 3 but at least two metal studs, with several toggle bolts per stud. Then I would screw the TV mount into the plywood. This is assuming the drywall is directly mounted on the metal studs (which isn't always the case).

tvyn5.png

However, doing it the way as described in the thread that W. K. Lis linked above is also an option, with the mount directly toggle bolted into the studs.

It's interesting they mention the Monoprice mounts though since they're less sturdy to begin with, and there may be some flex in the metal.