8.5K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 39K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 4.8K     0 

R

ronald1987

Hi all (I'm new here)!
My name is Ronald, I live in the Netherlands.
I'm 18 years old and studying Human Geography and Planning at the University of Utrecht (I'm a 1st year student).
I love all the pics of Toronto that are posted here. I might move there after I graduate, what a great city.

Wednesday afternoon I took a walk through downtown Rotterdam.
I covered most of Downtown in about 40 minutes.
Rotterdam is the second city of the Netherlands, and is currently competing with Singapore for the title 'largest port in the world', after being the largest port in the world for decades.
Because the Germans bombed Rotterdam during WW2, the original downtown was completely destroyed.
It's been rebuild in a modern way, after the economy recovered.
It is the most modern city in the Netherlands, and the only city with a lot of tall office buildings in its downtown.
We'll start with the area around Central Station:

the headquarters of an insurance company, and the tallest building in the Netherlands:
ee1e22c3.jpg

1c8ceabc.jpg

fa6f82ef.jpg

the Westin Hotel:
3a73bc7a.jpg

7f612e41.jpg

90fe59bb.jpg

What a canyon effect!
7021282c.jpg

5386bbe3.jpg

1c873f0e.jpg

shopping streets, with City Hall in the distance:
70eadb01.jpg

Square around the cinema:
2f06cbe0.jpg

cefc34a1.jpg

the red cranes are symbolic, meant to show that Rotterdam is a harbour city.
277a2a2b.jpg

Moving on to the shopping area:
60f9d657.jpg

a60fe488.jpg

21294326.jpg

5d7140ea.jpg

The 'Koopgoot', or 'buying ditch' (literally translated). This is the newest shopping area in downtown, I thought it has been completed about 5 years ago.
aeb1834e.jpg

0b8a4cb2.jpg

5caf5b2a.jpg

f87479a7.jpg

There's tramways all over downtown:
462a61d1.jpg

fc6b642a.jpg

af559df5.jpg

the World Trade Center:
768304c1.jpg

St. Laurentius Church:
b7e5c76d.jpg

27a090d4.jpg

b5afa2ac.jpg

2dfd409a.jpg