News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 02, 2020
 8.6K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 39K     0 
News   GLOBAL  |  Apr 01, 2020
 4.8K     0 

I have zero experience on the NE Corridor. Would you consider that line(s) to be the model for what the VIA corridor could become? The distances and population numbers are not quite comparable, but equipment could, may or might be. Without taking up your time, as this may have been discussed other places previously, a yes, no or maybe would be good for me! Thanks. I'll need to go for a ride myself.

It's always interesting to benchmark against others, but one has to be careful about apples and oranges. The NEC runs through many much more dense urban areas and has a combination of High Speed, Regional, and commuter functions that may or may not lend itself to direct application to VIA's needs.

Also, we are talking here about electrical supply and not system design as a whole.

The difference between the NEC and VIA in regard to electricity infrastructure is that the NEC has had to retrofit many things onto an extremely old and often obsolete but still vital infrastructure spanning multiple jurisdictions. Whereas VIA will have the ability to design from the ground up, and (if they get ahead of things) won't have to cater to other jurisdictions' already in place infrastructure and precedent.

Should VIA just copy what's in place in the NEC? Absolutely not. But VIA's designers may reach similar conclusions on similar issues and problems. We have similar winters and summers, a common electricity grid, for example. But some things may not matter, and different visions of equipment choice and operating envelopes will inform the design.

But it's definitely an interesting system to explore.

- Paul

What I found interesting about comparing VIA’s Corridor services with Amtrak’s NEC was that their trip rates (i.e. ridership divided by the relevant population figures for the megalopolitan area) are actually surprisingly similar…

Last edited: